top of page

Q12. Mention the different phases of menstrual cycle and the hormones which regulate the menstrual cycle.


a. Menstrual phase: last for 3-5 days
b. Proliferative/Follicular phase: last for 10-17 days
c. Ovulatory phase: last for 48 hours
d. Luteal phase: last for 12-14 days

The menstrual cycle is regulated by the complex interaction of hormones: luteinizing hormone, follicle-stimulating hormone, and the female sex hormones oestrogen and progesterone.

bottom of page